Joint Leadership Council of Veterans Service Organizations Conference at the General Assembly January 18, 2010

The Joint Leadership Council of Veterans Service Organizations (the JLC) held a conference at the General Assembly Building (morning) and the State Capitol (afternoon) on Monday, January 18, 2010. No business was conducted. Members and alternates were asked to sign in, but no roll was called.

Members and Alternate Members Present

Harold Barton, Air Force Association Daniel Boyer, Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) Bruce Brown, AMVETS Vince Burgess, Commissioner of Veterans Services John Clickener, Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) George Corbett, Vietnam Veterans of America Matthew Dailey, Non-commissioned Officers Association Kim DeShano, VFW Wes Edwards. MOAA Robert Fairchild, Military Order of the Purple Heart Paul Galanti, Chairman, Board of Veterans Services Carmen Gentile, Reserve Officers Association Jenny Holbert, Women Marines Association Lloyd Jackson, Roanoke Valley Veterans Council James Jones. Korean War Veterans Association Don Kaiserman, AUSA David Martinez. Disabled American Veterans Thomas Moran, National Association for Uniformed Services Brett Reistad, American Legion Yusuf Shakir, Paralyzed Veterans of America Thomas Stephen, Reserve Officers Association Bill Townsley, Military Order of the World Wars Abe Zino, Fleet Reserve Association

Others Present

Charles Absher, VFW Jim Aucoin, AMVETS Steven Combs, Department of Veterans Services Stanley Crow, AUSA Jimmy Cox, AUSA Jack Hilgers, Department of Veterans Services Ken Knight, American Legion Carl Matney, AUSA Isabelle Slifer, AUSA Hugh Sproul, AUSA The conference opened at 9:00 a.m. in the General Assembly Building, Conference Room 5 East. Elected officials from the legislative and executive branches of state government addressed the JLC. Discussion covered the JLC 2010 Legislative Objectives and budget constraints.

Elected officials who spoke during the morning were:

- Delegate Joe Johnson
- Delegate Bill Janis
- Delegate Algie Howell
- Senator John Miller
- Delegate Kirk Cox
- Delegate John O'Bannon
- Delegate Bill Howell, Speaker of the House
- Delegate Ward Armstrong, House Minority Leader
- Delegate Mamye BaCote
- Delegate Vivian Watts
- Delegate Rich Anderson
- Lt Governor Bill Bolling
- Senator Walter Stosch

Commissioner Vince Burgess also spoke during the morning session.

The morning session of the conference ended at 11:00 a.m. Members met with individual delegates and senators and visited the Capitol Building. Several members took advantage of the opportunity to view the House and Senate sessions from the viewing gallery. The JLC was recognized by Senator John Miller and Delegate John Cosgrove during the "Morning Hour" of their respective sessions.

Free time was available for the JLC members to eat lunch on their own.

The JLC conference reconvened at 1:30 p.m. in House Room 3 of the State Capitol. Afternoon speakers were:

- JLC Chairman Dan Boyer, who recapped the morning session
- Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli
- Governor Bob McDonnell

The afternoon session of the conference ended at 3 p.m. Several JLC members took a tour of the Capitol. Throughout the conference, Stan Crow of the AUSA provided outstanding photographic coverage.