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Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents Education 

Program Frequently Asked Questions 2019-2020 

 

Overview  

 
VMSDEP is a Commonwealth of Virginia program that provides education benefits to spouses 

and children of military service members killed, missing in action, taken prisoner, or who 

became totally and permanently disabled or at least 90 percent permanently disabled as a result 

of military service. Military service includes service in the United States Armed Forces, United 

States Armed Forces Reserves, or the Virginia National Guard. 

 

The Virginia Department of Veterans Services (DVS) is responsible for managing the program 

and collaborates with the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and 

Virginia’s public colleges and universities to assist survivors and dependents of qualified 

Veterans in attaining their educational goals. 

 

 

1. Who are eligible to receive benefits under the VMSDEP? 
 

Tier 1 Eligibility - the student must be admitted to a Virginia public college or university 

and the spouse or the child, between the ages of 16 and 29, of a Veteran who became totally 

and permanently disabled or at least 90 percent permanently disabled as a result of military 

service and meets the domiciliary requirement as defined in the Code of Virginia § 23.1-608. 

 

Tier 2 Eligibility - the student must be admitted to a Virginia public college or university 

and the spouse or the child, between the ages of 16 and 29, of a Veteran or military service 

member who was killed; became missing in action; taken prisoner of war; or has been rated 

totally and permanently disabled or at least 90% permanently disabled due to direct 

involvement in covered military combat (includes military operation against terrorism; a 

peacekeeping mission; a terrorist act; or any armed conflict) and meets the domiciliary 

requirement as defined in the Code of Virginia § 23.1-608.  
 

2. What benefits are available under the Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents 

Education Program (VMSDEP)? 
 

Waiver of tuition and mandatory fees for Tier 1 and Tier 2 eligible students. 

 

Tier 2 students are eligible for a stipend to offset the costs of room, board, books, and 

supplies (amount of stipend is contingent on funding). 

 

 

3. May I use my VMSDEP benefits after I reach age 30? 
 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title23.1/chapter6/section23.1-608/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title23.1/chapter6/section23.1-608/
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The Commissioner of the Department of Veterans Services may certify dependents above the 

age of 29 in those cases in which extenuating circumstances prevented the dependent child 

from using the benefits before the age of 30. 

 

4. Can a Veteran’s or military service member’s stepchild or adopted child take 

advantage of VMSDEP benefits? 
 

The biological and adopted child of a qualified military service member may take advantage 

of VMSDEP benefits. Eligibility does not include the stepchild. 

 

5. As an eligible child, if I get married while attending school, do I lose my eligibility for 

VMSDEP benefits?  
 

No, an eligible child's marital status dose not affect such child's eligibility for VMSDEP   

benefits. 

 

6. What should I do to apply for VMSDEP benefits? 
 

Complete the VMSDEP online application found at https://www.dvs.virginia.gov. 

 

7. How long does the application process take? 
 

In order to determine eligibility prior to your semester start date, a complete VMSDEP 

application should be submitted at least 90 calendar days prior to the date tuition and 

mandatory fees are due to the school: 

 

Semester You Plan to Start Your Benefits Submit Application By 

Fall May 1st 

Spring September 1st 

Summer December 15th 

 

8. Do I need to reapply every year of enrollment? 
 

No, you do not have to reapply.  

 

NOTE: If you plan to transfer to another school or require a change in enrollment, please 

visit our website at https://www.dvs.virginia.gov to obtain a Transfer Request Form or 

Summer_Winter Semester Request Form, whichever is applicable. 

 

 

 

9. How does the tuition and mandatory fees waiver work? 
 

https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/
https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/
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Eligible students are entitled to 8 semesters of program benefits. This also applies if you 

attend one school for part of your eligibility period and another school for the remainder. 

Please note that semesters, not academic credit earned, is the standard measure to determine 

benefit usage.  

 

10. Are students who are eligible for VMSDEP benefits entitled to receive a stipend for 

school attendance? 
 

Tier 1 students are not eligible for a stipend. 

 

Tier 2 student are eligible to receive a stipend. For detailed information regarding VMSDEP 

stipend funding please visit: https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-
section/undergrad-grad-financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheetsept2019.pdf. 
 

NOTE: The stipend is not available for the advance purchase of books. Stipend funding is 

typically disbursed to your school after your school’s add/drop period. 

 

11. Does entitlement to VMSDEP benefits guarantee admission to a Virginia public college 

or university? 
 

No, eligibility for the VMSDEP benefit does not guarantee admission. All student must meet 

each individual college or university’s admission requirements. 

 

12. May I attend more than one Virginia public colleges or universities at the same time? 

 

Yes, eligible students are permitted to use VMSDEP benefits at multiple Virginia public 

colleges and universities during any given semester.  

 

13. May I take online courses? 

 

Yes, as long as those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 

14. May I use my VMSDEP benefits for remedial or refresher courses? 

 

Yes, as long as those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 

15. May I use VMSDEP benefits for non-credit courses? 

 

Yes, as long as those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 

Non-credit courses are not eligible for stipend. (Please see SCHEV’s Tier 2 fact sheet 

https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/undergrad-grad-financial-
aid/vmsdepfactsheetsept2019.pdf)  

 

16. May I use VMSDEP benefits for study-abroad courses? 

 

https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/undergrad-grad-financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheetsept2019.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/undergrad-grad-financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheetsept2019.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/undergrad-grad-financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheetsept2019.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/undergrad-grad-financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheetsept2019.pdf
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Yes, if a study abroad program is owned by a public institution, then the respective 

institution is required to waive the tuition and mandatory fees; however, if the program is a 

contract, or third-party program offered through, but independent of, a public institution, the 

tuition and fees charges cannot be waived because VMSDEP benefits are not applicable at 

institutions other than a public institution. 

 

17. May I use my VMSDEP benefits to earn a masters or professional degree? 
 

Yes, VMSDEP benefits may be used for any program offered at any Virginia public or 

university.  

NOTE: The benefits are available for 8 semesters. This includes graduate studies, law 

school, etc. 

 

18. May I use my VMSDEP benefits to attend a private school or a school in another state?  
 

No, VMSDEP benefits are only applicable at a Virginia public colleges and universities.  

 

If you choose to attend a private school, you may be entitled to receive federal education 

benefits offered by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). Visit the VA’s website at 

https://www.va.gov/ to obtain additional information. 

 

19. What happens if I drop out of school or have a temporary interruption in training? 
 

If training is interrupted, you will need to have a recalculation of your benefits completed 

before you return to school. Please visit our website at https://www.dvs.virginia.gov, select 

the Education and Employment tab, select the VMSDEP link, and complete and submit the 

Recalculation Request Form under the Forms section. 

 

20. If I withdraw from school, will it affect my entitlement period under VMSDEP? 
 

Please see your school’s financial aid department or bursar’s office to determine if VMSDEP 

benefits applied to the term or terms in question.  

 

21. Are there any attendance or academic requirements that I must meet to continue my 

eligibility under VMSDEP? 
 

Your attendance and academic progress must be acceptable according to the guidelines 

established by the school(s) you attend. 

 

22. If I do not successfully compete one of my courses, may I repeat it under VMSDEP? 
 

VMSDEP benefits apply toward any courses taken by an eligible student within any given 

semester. The benefits are calculated on a semester basis regardless of the how many courses 

taken within a semester. 

 

https://www.va.gov/
https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/
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NOTE: Taking one course within a semester will result in using one semester of VMSDEP 

benefits; and similarly, taking multiple courses within a semester will result in using one 

semester of VMSDEP benefits.  

 

23. How is VMSDEP different from the VA’s Dependents Education Assistance 

(DEA/Chapter 35) Program? 
 

VMSDEP is provided by the Commonwealth of Virginia and is administered by the Virginia 

Department of Veterans Services. The DEA program is a program offered by VA and falls 

under the G.I. Bill benefits umbrella. Eligibility for one program is not automatically equate 

to eligibility for the other.  

 

24. Can I use my VMSDEP benefits in conjunction with my DEA (Chapter 35) benefits? 
 

Yes, eligible students are permitted to use VMSDEP and DEA benefits concurrently. 

 

NOTE: Eligibility periods for the programs vary; therefore, students should consider their 

individual circumstances to determine whether to use the benefits simultaneously or 

separately. 

 

25. If approved for VMSDEP benefits, can I be reimbursed for education expenses paid for 

out-of-pocket? 
 

Eligibility for the VMSDEP benefit is based upon the date that an application was 

submitted. It is at the discretion of the college or university whether any tuition and fees 

applied to the student’s account prior to the VMSDEP benefit authorization date. Please note 

that colleges and universities are not obligated to refund any monies that have already been 

paid. 

 

26. What should I do if I have additional questions? 
 

Please contact the Virginia Department of Veterans Services.  

 

Mail:  Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents Education Program 

           101 North 14th Street, 17th Floor 

           Richmond, VA 23219 

Phone: (804) 225-2083 

Fax: (807) 786 – 0809 

Email: VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov 

 


