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Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents Education 

Program Frequently Asked Questions 2023-2024 

 

Overview 

 
The VMSDEP is a Commonwealth of Virginia program that provides education benefits to spouses and 

children of qualifying Veterans who has been rated by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs (USDVA) as 

totally and permanently disabled or at least 90 percent permanently disabled as a result of military service 

and of qualifying Military Service Members killed, missing in action, taken prisoner, or who has been rated 

by the USDVA as totally and permanently disabled or at least 90 percent permanently disabled as a direct 

result of involvement in covered military combat. Military service includes service in the United States 

Armed Forces, United States Armed Forces Reserves, or the Virginia National Guard. 

 

The Virginia Department of Veterans Services (VDVS) is responsible for managing the 

program and collaborates with the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) 

and Virginia’s public colleges and universities to assist survivors and dependents of 

qualified Veterans or Service members in attaining their educational goals. 
 

1. Who are eligible to receive benefits under the VMSDEP? 

 

Tier 1 Eligibility - the student must be admitted to a Virginia public college or university 

and the spouse or the child (the child must be between the ages of 16 and 29 and there is no 

age limit for the spouse) of a Veteran who became rated by the USDVA totally and 

permanently disabled or at least 90 percent permanently disabled as a result of military 

service and meets the domiciliary requirement as defined in the Code of Virginia § 23.1-608. 
 

Tier 2 Eligibility - the student must be admitted to a Virginia public college or university 

and the spouse or the child (the child must be between the ages of 16 and 29 and there is no 

age limit for the spouse) of a Veteran or military service member who was killed; became 

missing in action; taken prisoner of war; or has been rated by the USDVA as  totally and 

permanently disabled or at least 90% permanently disabled due to direct involvement in 

covered military combat (includes military operation against terrorism; a peacekeeping 

mission; a terrorist act; or any armed conflict) and meets the domiciliary requirement as 

defined in the Code of Virginia § 23.1-608. 
 

2. What benefits are available under the Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents 

Education Program (VMSDEP)? 

 

Waiver of tuition and mandatory fees for Tier 1 and Tier 2 eligible students. Mandatory fees 

are defined by each school.  

 

Tier 2 students are eligible for a VMSDEP stipend to offset the costs of room, board, 

books, and supplies. The amount of stipend is contingent on funding and it is not 

guaranteed. If available, the VMSDEP stipend is provided once per semester. 

 

https://www.va.gov/education/survivor-dependent-benefits/
https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/myVMSDEP-Quick-Start-Guide.pdf
https://www.virginia.gov/agencies/state-council-of-higher-education-for-virginia/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title23.1/chapter6/section23.1-608/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title23.1/chapter6/section23.1-608/
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3. How do I check on the status of my VMSDEP stipend? 

 

The VMSDEP stipend is disbursed by only the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia (SCHEV). If available, the SCHEV releases the funds to your attending 

school for allocation. To inquire about the status of your VMSDEP stipend allotment, 

you must contact your attending school’s financial aid department; and if you are 

informed the VMSDEP stipend is not yet released to the school, you may request the 

referenced department contact the SCHEV for detailed information pertaining to your 

VMSDEP stipend disbursement. 
 

4. May I use my VMSDEP benefits after I reach age 30? 

 

No. However, a dependent child above age 29 may request an age waiver to use the benefits in 

cases in which extenuating circumstances prevented the dependent child from using the benefits 

before age 30. You must submit substantial evidence and a statement with the following 

information to request an age waiver due to extenuating circumstances: 

 

• Your full name; 

• Your date of birth; 

• Your current mailing address; and 

• The extenuating circumstances that prevented you from using VMSDEP benefits prior 

to your 30th birthday. 

 

You must submit the information by email to VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov. 

 

5. Can a Veteran’s or military service member’s stepchild or adopted child take 

advantage of VMSDEP benefits? 

 

The biological and adopted child of a qualified military service member may take advantage 

of VMSDEP benefits.  

 

Effective July 1, 2022, the VMSDEP extended to the stepchild of a qualifying military 

service member who is deceased; AND due to direct involvement in covered military 

combat, resulted in either of the following: 

• Was killed  

• Became missing in action  

• Became a prisoner of war 

• Rated by the USDVA as totally and permanently disabled or at least 90% 

permanently disabled  

The qualifying military service member must also meet the domiciliary requirement as 

defined in the Code of Virginia § 23.1-608 AND must have claimed the stepchild on his or 

her tax return or on his or her Defense Enrollment Eligibility Reporting System while 

serving on active duty.  

 

6. As an eligible child, if I get married while attending school, do I lose my eligibility for 

VMSDEP benefits? 

mailto:VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title23.1/chapter6/section23.1-608/
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No, an eligible child's marital status does not affect such child's eligibility for VMSDEP 

benefits. 

 

 

7. Who can submit an application for VMSDEP benefits? 

 

You may submit an application if you are the: 

• Child; or, 

 

• Spouse. 

 

 

8. What should I do to apply for VMSDEP benefits? 

  

Complete the VMSDEP application online at https://vmsdep.dvs.virginia.gov/user/login. 
 

9. How long does the application process take? 

 
Application processing time-frame takes up to 10 calendar days. In order to determine 

eligibility and attending school(s) receive(s) authorization prior to your semester start 

date, a completed VMSDEP  application should be submitted at least 60 calendar days 

prior to the date tuition and mandatory fees are due to the school(s): 

 

Semester You Plan to Start Your Benefits Submit Application By 

Fall May 1st 

Spring September 1st 

Summer December 15th 

 
10. Do I need to reapply every year of enrollment? 

 

No, you do not have to reapply. Beneficiaries must update enrollment information each 

semester in order to use VMSDEP benefits. Instructions to update enrollment information are 

located online at www.dvs.virginia.gov. 

 

NOTE: Beneficiaries should also contact the attending schools for further potential 

instructions to use the benefits at the respective institutions. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://vmsdep.dvs.virginia.gov/user/login
https://vmsdep.dvs.virginia.gov/user/login
https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/education-employment/virginia-military-survivors-and-dependents-education-program-2-2-2
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11. When do I update my enrollment information? 
 

Enrollment Open/Close Dates: 

Terms Open Close (Due by) 

Fall July 01 October 31 

Spring (Winter credits hours are 

combined with Spring) 
November 03 March 31 

Summer April 01 June 30 
 

If you do not complete your enrollment update by the listed Close (Due by) date and time, you 

must request retroactive approval from your attending Virginia public college or university; 

and if approved, the respective institution will notify the VMSDEP Office of such approval; 

upon which, the Office will authorize the qualifying semester.  
 

12. What should I do if I have a student account balance after I have updated my enrollment 

information? 

 

Access your account and view the semester(s) for which the attending school(s) has your 

authorization(s); then, you must contact the attending school(s) for detailed information 

pertaining to your student account balance for the listed semester(s). 

 

13. How does the tuition and mandatory fees waiver work? 

 

Beneficiaries are able to use the benefits for eight semesters. This also applies if you attend 

one school for part of your eligibility period and another school for the remainder. Please 

note that semesters, not academic credit earned, is the standard measure to determine 

benefit usage. 

 

14. Are VMSDEP beneficiaries entitled to receive a stipend for     school attendance? 

 

Tier 1 beneficiaries are not eligible for a stipend. 

 

Tier 2 beneficiaries are eligible to receive a stipend. For detailed information regarding 

VMSDEP stipend funding please visit: https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-

aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf.  
 

The VMSDEP stipend is disbursed by only the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia (SCHEV). If available, the SCHEV releases the funds to your attending 

school for allocation. To inquire about the status of your VMSDEP stipend allotment, 

you must contact your attending school’s financial aid department; and if you are 

informed the VMSDEP stipend is not yet released to the school, you may request the 

referenced department contact the SCHEV for detailed information pertaining to your 

VMSDEP stipend disbursement. 

 

 

 

 

 

https://vmsdep.dvs.virginia.gov/user/login
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
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15. Does entitlement to VMSDEP benefits guarantee admission to a Virginia public college 

or university? 

 

No, eligibility for the VMSDEP benefit does not guarantee admission. All student must meet 

each individual college or university’s admission requirements. 

 

16. Can I transfer my VMSDEP benefits to a different school? 

 

Yes. You may use your VMSDEP benefits at a different Virginia public college or 

university. Please see How to Use the VMSDEP After Approval for detailed instructions. 

 

17. May I attend more than one Virginia public colleges or universities at the same time? 

 

Yes, VMSDEP beneficiaries are permitted to use the benefits at multiple Virginia public 

colleges and universities. 

 

18. May I take online courses? 

 

Yes, as long as those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 

19. May I use my VMSDEP benefits for remedial or refresher courses? 

 

Yes, as long as those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 

20. May I use VMSDEP benefits for non-credit courses? 

 

Yes, as long as those classes are offered by a Virginia public college or university. 

 

Non-credit courses are not eligible for stipend. (Please see SCHEV’s Tier 2 Stipend fact 

sheet (https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-

aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf)  
 

 

21. May I use VMSDEP benefits for study-abroad courses? 

 

Yes, if a study abroad program is owned by a public institution, then the respective 

institution is required to waive the tuition and mandatory fees; however, if the program is a 

contract, or third-party program offered through, but independent of, a public institution, the 

tuition and fees charges cannot be waived because VMSDEP benefits are not applicable at 

institutions other than a public institution. 

 

22. May I use my VMSDEP benefits to earn a masters or professional degree? 

 

Yes, VMSDEP benefits may be used for any program offered at any Virginia public or 

university. 

NOTE: The benefits are available for eight semesters. This includes graduate studies, 

law school, etc. 

 

https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/education-employment/virginia-military-survivors-and-dependents-education-program-2-2-2
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
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23. May I use my VMSDEP benefits to attend a private school or a school in another state? 

 

No, VMSDEP benefits are only applicable at a Virginia public colleges and universities. 

 

If you choose to attend a private school, you may be entitled to receive federal education 

benefits offered by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). Visit the VA’s website at 

https://www.va.gov/ to obtain additional information. 
 

24. What happens if I drop out of school or have a temporary interruption in matriculation? 

 

If you withdraw from enrollment and did not use VMSDEP benefits to cover any part of 

charges incurred during enrollment, your attending school will report you did not use the 

benefits for the respective semester which will not count towards your remaining benefits 

balance. If you feel it is a discrepancy with your remaining benefits balance, you should 

submit a completed Recalculation Request Form to the VMSDEP Office.  

 

25. Are there any attendance or academic requirements that I must meet to continue my 

eligibility under VMSDEP? 

 

No. You do not have to report your any attendance or academic information to the 

VMSDEP Office. 

 

26. If I do not successfully complete one of my courses, may I repeat it under VMSDEP? 

 

Yes. VMSDEP benefits apply toward any courses taken by an eligible student within any 

given semester. The benefits are calculated on a semester basis regardless of the how many 

courses taken within a semester. 

 

NOTE: Taking one course within a semester will result in using one semester of VMSDEP 

benefits; and similarly, taking multiple courses within a semester will result in using one 

semester of VMSDEP benefits. 

 

27. How is VMSDEP different from the VA’s Dependents Education Assistance 

(DEA/Chapter 35) Program? 

 

The DEA/Chapter 35 is offered by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and is not 

administered by the VMSDEP Office. VMSDEP is provided by the Commonwealth of 

Virginia and is administered by the Virginia Department of Veterans Services. The DEA 

program is a program offered by VA and falls under the G.I. Bill benefits umbrella. 

Eligibility for one program is not automatically equate to eligibility for the other. 

 

28. Can I use my VMSDEP benefits in conjunction with my DEA (Chapter 35) benefits? 

 

Yes, eligible students are permitted to use VMSDEP and DEA benefits concurrently. 

 

NOTE: Eligibility periods for the programs vary; therefore, students should consider their 

individual circumstances to determine whether to use the benefits simultaneously or 

separately. 

https://www.va.gov/
https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/VMSDEP-Recalculation-Request-Form.pdf
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29. If approved for VMSDEP benefits, can I be reimbursed for education expenses paid for 

out-of-pocket? 

 

Eligibility for the VMSDEP benefit is based upon the date that an application was 

submitted. It is at the discretion of the college or university whether any tuition and fees 

applied to the student’s account prior to the VMSDEP benefit authorization date. Please note 

that colleges and universities are not obligated to refund any monies that have already been 

paid. 

 

30. What should I do if I have additional questions? 

 

Please contact the Virginia Department of Veterans Services. 

 

Please review the following for detailed information:  

 

• VMSDEP website for detailed information 

• SCHEV Tier 2 Stipend Fact Sheet 

• Email: VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov 

• Phone: (804) 225-2083 

https://www.dvs.virginia.gov/education-employment/virginia-military-survivors-and-dependents-education-program-2-2-2
https://www.schev.edu/docs/default-source/tuition-aid-section/financial-aid/vmsdepfactsheet20210930.pdf
mailto:VMSDEP@dvs.virginia.gov

