Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Vertical Graphic Fade

All DVS team members in the education, transition, and employment programs are teleworking, and are connected via phone and e-mail, and can perform almost all direct-service activities for Veterans and their families during normal working hours.

State Approving Agency (GI Bill)

The Virginia State Approving Agency is a member of the National Association of State Approving Agencies (NASAA).  NASAA advocates for quality education and training programs for our nation’s veterans. Please click here to learn more about NASAA.

GI Bill® Approved Facilities

The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs has several “WEAMS” search engines available which will allow you to search for approved programs in Virginia and around the country. However, if you do not find the program(s) for which you are searching, please contact us at (804) 225-2298 or saa@dvs.virginia.gov to determine whether the approval is in process or whether a new approval can be completed.

WEAMS Institution Search

Searchable Program Types:

  • Institution of Higher Learning
  • Non College Degree
  • On-the-Job Training/Apprenticeship
  • Correspondence
  • Flight
  • All Types

WEAMS Licenses/Certifications Search

Searchable program Types:

  • Licence
  • Certfication
  • Both

WEAMS National Exams Search

GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Dept of Veterans Affairs (VA). More information about education benefits offered by VA is available at the official U.S. government website at www.benefits.va.gov/gibill

Contact the State Approving Agency

Virginia State Approving Agency
101 N. 14th Street, 17th Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Telephone: 804-225-2298
Fax: 804-786-0809

Name Title Contact Information

Martina Murray

Director of Education Programs

804-839-2792
martina.murray@dvs.virginia.gov

Tramaine Carroll-Payne

Deputy Director of Education Programs

804-248-1239
tramaine.carroll-payne@dvs.virginia.gov

Bobbie Blakely

Training Manager

804-310-0609
bobbie.blakely@dvs.virginia.gov

Michael Mullins

Education Support Specialist

804-297-5719
michael.mullins@dvs.virginia.gov

Patrice Jones

Apprenticeship Manager

804-212-8091
patrice.jones@dvs.virginia.gov

Sharo Browne

Manager

804-516-2975
sharo.browne@dvs.virginia.gov

Christopher Link

Manager

804-366-5547
christopher.link@dvs.virginia.gov